Today, many young couples decide to have babies later. Reason? Effects?

In recent years, delaying parenthood has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend is not without advantages, the downsides will be more significant. There are a variety of reasons why couples should delay parenthood. First, since early adulthood is an incredibly important time for career development, some will opt for focusing on their work before having babies. In fact, with stable and well-paid jobs, parents can support their children better, either in healthcare or education, ensuring their well-being down the road. Second, by delaying parenthood and having fewer kids, couples can help mitigate the effects of overpopulation. For example, China, being the most populated nation in the world, has encouraged its citizens to give birth later and to have only one child per household, which helps this country remain all social problems related to overpopulation at bay. Howver, an array of disadvantages of that trend should be taken into account. First, since aging has a variety of negative effects on maternity, women are advised to have children preferably before they turn 30. For example, the older a woman is when she gives birth, the more likely it is for the baby to have congenital defects, which implies that giving birth later in life does pose certain risks that might affect a woman’s health as well as her baby’s health. Second, by delaying the birth of a child, parents may encounter problems with the generation gap for their children. This means that they fail to understand their children's minds due to the rapid change of events, especially in today's digital age, which leads to failure to children rearing. In conclusion, notwithstanding its benefits, delaying parenthood should not be encouraged. Couples should consider the pros and cons before making the crucial decision of having a baby.