In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them with the same style as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that people can opt to create their own house no matter how the surrounding areas look like due to little management on the establishment of new houses. I believe that, while this has advantages, the disadvantages need to be taken more consideration into. On the one hand, individuals can enjoy their lives to the fullest by having the freedom to build their own houses. They will be able to decide on the size, the painting colours or the design, which meets their needs and comforts them. Meanwhile, the nearby old buildings are more likely to be old-fashioned and sometimes not safe to live in. Therefore, the local authorities should spend budgets on upgrading those old houses rather than put a restriction on new buildings. From my point of view, those advantages might be outweighed by the disadvantages which will be mentioned below. On the other hand, if people build their houses mainly based on their personal preferences, it will negatively affect the neighbourhood in some ways. Firstly, the existence of skyscrapers in some tourist attractions might dominate the landscape, leading to visitor's dissatisfaction and annoyance. Let take Hoi An ancient town as an example, tourist flocks come to there for discovering the exotic architecture and enjoying the low speed of life, not for visiting entertainment complexes or shopping malls. Secondly, the construction of high-rise buildings in some residential areas where are geographical fragile, might destroy the land's structure and damage the surrounding apartments. In conclusion, the freedom of making new houses seems to have more drawbacks than benefits. I think that governments should not only enact the construction laws on new buildings, but also preserve the old ones.