In some cities and towns over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, the problem of traffic congestion can be seen almost in every part of the globe whether it is a metropolitan city or a small town. The major reasons behind this are the improved lifestyle standards of people and the continuous growth of cities and towns. This problem, however, can be tackled by implementing some strict government legislations. The first and foremost reason is the increased purchasing power of people. In other words, these days, the majority of the population have high income, and they could easily afford cars and scooters. In addition, loans make it more convenient and easy to purchase any vehicle without down-payment at the time of buying. In Mumbai, for instance, most of the family members have their own personal motor vehicle to perform their daily life tasks. Consequently, more and more vehicles run on the road which poses the problem of traffic congestion. This situation could be easily handled by imposing more taxes on the purchase of motorable vehicles, which in turn would reduce their sales. As a result, people would shift to other modes of public transportation that mean lesser number of private vehicles on the roads. Another cause is the continuous construction of buildings and homes in urban areas. Due to the improved infrastructure and growth, more space is being occupied by these buildings, which has narrowed down the roads. Therefore, roads have to carry high traffic loads than its normal capacity. To illustrate it, Delhi city has a number of office buildings, shopping centres, malls and other shops on both sides of the highway that elevated the problem of parking and trespassing of vehicles. To combat this, government has to construct alternative routes in order to divert the traffic from entering into main city places. Additionally, authorities could limit the high volume trucks to enter the city during daytime, and special hours should be defined for them. In conclusion, the issue of increased traffic which is due to the easy accessibility of vehicles and construction works could overcome by adopting some genuine measures by authorities.