In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem.

Voluminous traffic on the roads in urban areas has become a serious problem, in various countries across the globe. While there are myriads of contributing factors to this, over population and poor road infrastructure are the predominant ones. However, various positive measures, including; masses’ facilitation in rural regions and construction of new roads, can be taken by the government to eradicate this issue. To begin with, there are several causes of hike in the vehicles in metropolitan regions. Firstly, with every passing day, urban areas are getting densely populated. Owing to the fact that cities are equipped with the advanced academic institutes, hospitals and organizations, individuals shift towards such areas. For instance, the United State population control department reported 65% average rise in the students of tertiary education in 2018. Consequently, with the growing inhabitants, transportation sources are escalating, which is the ultimate reason environmental contamination. Secondly, lack of basic roads and highways is the significant cause of traffic jams and congestions. Nevertheless, the governmental bodies are liable to control the vehicles on the road. If the competent authorities provide the residents of the suburbs with the educational and earning resources in their hometowns, the former would have no reason to relocate in the towns. To illustrate, building new medical centres, universities, and establishment of companies in the countryside would benefit the masses at their doorsteps. Moreover, a suitable budget should be allocated to construct more roads and bridges to overcome the traffic flow. To conclude, the proliferation in vehicles on roads due to the growing population and worst road conditions is becoming a major issue in both cities and towns. Therefore, the executive authorities must take steps to rectify this prevalent trend, by providing ease and comfort to the masses in rural regions. Furthermore, a fixed amount of the budget should be dedicated to the development of roads.