In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

Recently in certain parts of the US, adolescents have been strictly forbidden from going outside without the supervision of at least one of their parents or any other legal guardian. This kind of restriction is gaining support in some quarters. From my perspective, this practice is reasonable, and there are several compelling reasons why the youth must be accompanied by an adult when they go outdoors late at night. First and foremost, from the perspective of road traffic safety, there are indisputable benefits which result from this kind of curfew. Those youngsters who go outdoors might get seriously injured or even killed by careless or drunk drivers at such late hours in the evening or night. Moreover, youngsters sometimes forget to pay attention to the road conditions. If an adult is present and watching out for them, it would be less likely for them to be involved in a car accident or an accidental injury. Secondly, considering the increased possibility of encountering violence at night, the advantages of a curfew should not be overlooked. Serious crimes, such as robberies, murders, as well as kidnappings are more likely to occur at night. Thus, it makes sense to impose a night curfew on teenagers, for their own safety. In conclusion, I am convinced that teenagers should not go out late at night unaccompanied by an adult. The increased risk of road accidents as well as the higher rate of crime and violence at night are two compelling reasons for that.