Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the advantages and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of individuals travelling to tourist destinations with abominable natural conditions. In this essay, both merits and drawbacks will be addressed in detail. In the first place, there are indisputable benefits which result from going to places with poor conditions. A key point worth emphasizing is that an area with poor conditions is highly likely to remain unspoiled. A good illustration of this is Tibet. Due to the complex traffic conditions and the thin air, few make it as a travelling destination finally even though many may always be longing for a trip to it. As a result, there are countless spectacular, pure natural landscapes in a large proportion of Tibet without pollution and commercialization. Without a shadow of a doubt, exploring such the untraversed scenery could be an unforgettable experience. In addition, quite a few hold the view that it is the tough travelling which could enable them to push themselves to the limit. From their point of view, a challenging trip is far more worthwhile than a dull and boring one. Nevertheless, it cannot be ignored that there are some downsides associated with travelling to difficult places. The first disadvantage which should not be overlooked is the cost of time and money. Since an area with poor conditions is always exceptionally far from the airport or train station, one has little choice but to endure a long exhausting road trip to get there. Definitely, this also costs an arm and a leg. Another drawback is this kind of trip is always full of danger. A prime example of this is to discover the desert of western China by self-driving. It may sound fascinating at first. However, the story is different when a severe mechanical failure occurs. Since the lack of drinking water and mobile phone signal, it could be life-threatening in such a situation. In conclusion, while some advantages of difficult travelling may seem convincing and appealing, we have to also ponder the cost and the danger at the same time. As such, one should try to keep a balance between the two sides.