Volunteer work within the communityState University will now require all students to complete ten hours of volunteer work in the local community before graduating. Serving as a volunteer is not only helpful to communities, but also beneficial and convenie

Many people in this day and age do not actually notice that their daily activities are being kept under constant surveillance by governments, the police and privately owned companies. Is this a development that we should welcome? This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this development and my opinion will be presented with supporting evidence. There are various reasons why it might be considered as beneficial to keep track of what people are doing. Firstly, security cameras is getting familiar with human life as they allow people to supervise what is happing in their hourses or workplaces. For example, because of these cameras, it would be a lot easier for employers to know if their employees are neglecting the work without their presence. Moreover, the use of security cameras may also acts as a deterrent to criminals. If a crime is carried out, then a camera may provide useful evidence. The same is true for cellphone, the police sometimes rely on call logs to help them trace the whereabouts of suspects or victims. On the other hand, there are a number of concerns. The most negative aspect is clearly a leak of information. This may seem inoffensive to ordinary citizens, the reality is that the use of security cameras and listening devices may strip people of their personal space, especially celebrities since the private information can probably be exposed to the public at any time by some anonymous people who are able to hack data from those devices. There is also a very different issue we should consider. Nowadays, many people upload personal information and photographs onto networking sites without realizing that how easy it is for other strangers to view this information or for the site owners to use the data and photographs for their own financial gain. All in all, it is inevitable that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in the future. However, it is our responsibility to evaluate new technology and decide whether it do more harm than good. I personally believe that the technological progress is not worth losing our freedom.