In recent years, there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by the young in cities. What has caused this? What solutions can you suggest?

There has been an increasing involvement of young people in illegality in many urban areas. It is necessary to take the cause of this problem into consideration in order to find appropriate solutions. To commence with, one contributing factor for the rise in youth crime is the negative impacts of social networking on teenage behaviours. Many studies have shown that violent video game players are more likely to be aggressive and get involved in bullying others. Another cause of juvenile delinquency is the considerable consumption of drugs and alcohol among teenagers. Excessive drinking causes the young to lose control; therefore, they solve their arguments by violence or commit other alcohol-related crimes such as robbery, sexual assault or driving under the influence. According to the Youth Lifestyle Survey, binge drinking among at the age of 18 and 24 is related to offending behaviour. There are a number of solutions that could be implemented to tackle this problem. Firstly, it is essential that government enforce rigorous laws of using alcohol and severe punishment on young criminals. For instance, young people in the United States cannot consume alcohol or beer until they reach the age of 21. Secondly, investment needs to be made in teenager's education about the dangers of breaking the law. Moreover, adults are responsible for providing their children some useful knowledge of using social networks effectively and proper behaviour in some certain circumstances. In conclusion, the negative effect of technology and the increased use of alcohol and drugs are the reasons for juvenile delinquency in cities. To deter adolescents from committing crimes, education and strict regulations would be the most effective resolutions.