Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided.

It is undeniable that adolescence can be a critical period for both youngsters and their parents. Although some people believe that it does more harm than good, I would argue that it is an essential stage of teenagers’ development. On the one hand, those who believe that teenage conflict is harmful might argue that it can damage relationships between parents and their children. This is because such disputes can create tensions in the family. In other words, it is quite common for young people to begin smoking at their age to impress their peers, however, this would be resulted in confrontations with parents can lead to a complicated communication. In contrast, if there is no conflict between children and their parents, there will be a healthier communication among family members. On the other hand, my view is that this conflict is important because it can help teenagers to mature. The reason behind this is that an assistance can be provided to these teenagers to make their own decisions rightly. For instance, a child may grow in a family of meat-eaters but feel strongly against meat. If this child does not voice their opinion, they will be going against their principles. However, if they are willing to be engaged in a conflict with their parents, their opinion will be much clearer. To conclude, despite the danger of damaging relationships with teenage conflict can create, it is my view that this time of friction is a vital step to teenagers becoming mature and independently-minded adults.