In recent years, the structure of a family and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

It is true that the family patterns and roles of each family member have significantly altered over the last decades in many parts of the world. Personally, I believe these trends bring more desirable outcomes than its drawbacks. On the one hand, the way how a modern family is structured can be different from the past. Large, extended families, which is the once prevalent type of households, have given way for smaller, nuclear ones. In other words, people no longer live under the same roof with their distant relatives or grandparents as they did 50 years ago. Instead, they enjoy more private space with their children while trying to catch up with their relatives from time to time. Besides, the last century has also witnessed changes in the roles that parents play in their households. While males were the breadwinners in the past, today’s family is enjoying financial support from both working parents, which means females have an equal role to play in aiding their family and in the labour market. However, these changes yield fruitful results for family and society. Firstly, with the rise of nuclear family units, the pressure of supporting other family members other than their child could be lifted off their shoulders. This means they can be more focused on growing and raising their offspring. With regards to changes in parents’ roles, this helps to free women from the role of just stay-at-home moms and give them the opportunity to pursue their own careers. By doing this, society could enjoy more contributions and talents from the weaker sex and greater gender equality. In conclusion, family and women, in particular, have benefited from the rise of widely dispersed families and women’s increasing roles in the world of work.