Some people believe that government spends too much money on space research while there are still a lot of problems on the earth.

I am in total agreement with the statement. Apropos of the statement, very expensive space research programs are straining the government budget, jeopardising essential and more pertinent issues like education and healthcare which impact majority of the population especially in developing countries. Many developing nations, as well as third world countries, still have extremely poor literacy rates & very high percentage of people lack access to even primary education. Very few people who can get basic skills like reading and writing are unemployable due to lack of proper vocational training. The government resources should be spent on something as basic and important as employable education. Basic health care is also one of the most important issues. Exponentially increasing medical costs are making access to primary health care out of reach for many. Maximum countries still lack the basic medical infrastructure. Governments should prioritise medical research making health care accessible & far-reaching. Crime control, law and justice departments need more attention and budget and mass people are being directly affected with the lacking of basic needs. When many people starve every day and lots of people are not getting proper treatment, space research seems a luxury we can’t afford. We need to focus on the very basic needs first and then when we have the capability to conduct the space research, only then we should continue this. To conclude, though some think that space programs are essential for the advancement of science and technologies, a multitude of basic problems like education & medical & health care should be given a paramount importance.