In recent years, more and more people tend to live individually. What are the causes of this trend? Does this have a positive or negative effect on society?

Many people these days have the propensity for living separately. This tendency is attributable to a host of reasons, and I firmly believe that this ongoing trend brings about both adverse and beneficial effects. There are two underlying reasons why one-person households are on the increase. The very first motive is the modern conception which appreciates individual space and self reliance. One is liberty at arranging his timetable, leading to some habits that would not be judged by the others, and simultaneously handle personal and emotional situations on their own. The second factor which are likely to play a role is enhanced living standard. Increasing incomes allow people to afford independent living arrangements. Indeed, extensive social network also contribute to single-person households when such supply of service and infrastructure pose less risk on solitary life. I would contend that this growing trend towards an unattended life is going to have both beneficial and detrimental effects on society. On the one hand, people staying single gravitate towards hectic work schedules, which in turn contribute greatly to the economic growth in a country. The example can be seen at some developed-industry countries, when people fear that involving in romantic relationship can divert them away from climbing the career ladder. On the other hand, there are concerns about reduced social interactions if this drift continues. The repercussion is that they are under high risk of mental-related problems such as depression or anxiety. Putting this in a wider context, it can lead to an aging population if the young face obstacles in forming intimate relationships. In conclusion, personal environment and independence are the most pivotal factors contributing to the growing number of adults who choose to live on their own. While this can be advantageous for the national economy, people’s health and population issues are believed to suffer considerably if serious efforts are not put in researching possible developments of this trend in the future.