Some people believe that the government should make university education free for all. Others disagree and say students should pay for their own education.

The idea of free tertiary education fully funded by government causes debates in the society. For some people this is the best strategy, while others claim that students should be responsible for their expenses for study. Both opinions have grounds and they need to be closely examined. On the one hand, the proponents of free access to higher education support their view with some important reasons. Among them is the fact that free education would positively affect the general educational level in a country, which in its turn would expand highly qualified workforce and, as a result, would have improved the economy at large. It is also important to keep in mind that free higher education would provide equal rights to all categories of students, including those who cannot afford to study at a university level. By contrast, there are people who believe that students should cover their higher education, not government. This can be exemplified by the fact that access to this type of education should be competitive and selective in order to the elevate the status of higher education and prepare a cohort of highly professional specialists. On another note, besides supporting higher education, government has to subsidize many other spheres of public life. Therefore, only school education should be free for all citizens, whereas tertiary studies should be open only for those who can meet the expenses. To conclude, in my view, there should be a balance in allocating public funding for university education, and governments should provide a certain percentage of merit-based and need-based financial aid to make higher education more accessible. This policy is especially true for those countries which cannot afford entirely free education systems, and this is why avoiding paying higher education is hardly possible in such countries.