in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping or malls to do their shopping. is it a positive or a negative development?

Lately, people around the world have opted to shop from large shopping centres rather than from local shops. Although, local shops were in demand previously it has now started shutting down as more and more people choose going to malls. This essay will argue that the development of large malls across the cities have been entirely beneficial despite some of its demerits. Shutting down local shops and businesses have led to a gradual increase in unemployment. According to The New York Times, customers migration from local shops to malls raised unemployment by 1. 5% across the globe. For instance, countries like India and China have many small businesses, these people have been selling local products for almost their entire life hence this is justifiable why local shops owners are getting unemployed due to less customers visiting their store. On the other hand, construction of malls has tremendously boosted the development of cities as almost all the stores are consolidated in one single gigantic building, making people realise that even though local shops provide less costly products they however use more land making the city congested. Researchers have made comparisons between two cities, one which has significantly more malls while the other city has fewer and claimed that the city which has more number saved ten times the land. These claim makes us believe that malls has been a great factor in development of cities and people have started realizing it in recent times. To conclude, this essay argued that although there has been a gradual increase in unemployment due to migration of customers from local shops to malls there has been major developments in cities that has happened due to malls. In my opinion, I consider that this has been a positive development for the future.