In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The debate whether it is a positive trend that today many people choose large shopping centres or malls as they go to choice for shopping, as opposed to buying from a local shop has become a matter of discussion for many. Personally, I believe that it should be viewed as a beneficial development. In this essay, I shall discuss and outline the benefits of this trend. To start with, there are numerous predominant reasons, which makes it a positive tendency. Firstly, it allows the public to purchase items at a fair price without having to go through the hassle of bargaining. For example, often times owners of such local shops may decide to sell their products for a very large profit and they do so by selecting a price much larger than its original value. Secondly, before shopping centres and mall became popular, local shops had the monopoly on the market. This was a problem, as the price of one product might be higher at one shop and much lower at another, making it a hectic task to find reasonably priced material. Moreover, shopping malls are generally a great place to find international products that otherwise may not be available anywhere. This is due to the fact that companies that own such centres and malls have a larger budget and reach to import goods from overseas. Furthermore, it also provide a safe and fun place to spend time with family. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in contemporary life. From the given arguments and examples, I am inclined to say that the positive points of this trend surpass the negative effects. In the future, we could expect to see further growth in this sector, as the demand for quality and cheaper price is growing rapidly among the public.