In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern society, the way of shopping has been altered dramatically. The inclination of the consumers towards the mega-mall culture has eradicated the local vendors from the market. In my opinion, this is the negative development, where the new trend of shopping would have the detrimental effects on the domestic economy. To begin with, the mall-shopping culture is provoking the customers to the materialism, which is the predominant hazardous effect of it. The availability of the innumerable choices are influencing a layman for the exorbitant consumption. Although, such practices would improve the standards of living, the community will suffer from a high rate of inflation. For instance, the soaring prices of the commodity are observed in the urban area, as compared to the rural area; due to excessive reliance on the large shops. Thus, the mall shopping culture has a long term alarming effects. Furthermore, the local shops are the key element of the domestic economy. Due to the faded local shops, the consumption of local products will be declined, as well as the economic problems, such as unemployment and inflation will emerge. Consequently, these patterns of shopping might bring the unsustainable development of the society. For instance, in many developing countries, the foreign goods are more preferred in mega-malls; reveals the demolished local trades and cultures. Therefore, the local shops should be preserved for a healthy economy. To conclude, the diversity in shopping habits of the people is crucial factor for the development of communities. The recent trend of the shopping in the malls brings not only the local productivity crises, but also led the people towards the consumerism. The government should form the fiscal and monetary policies to preserve the local shops in this competitive world.