In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Over the lastest decade, shopping malls have attracted more clients to business, which has caused the bankrupt of several smaller local stores. From my perspective, this trend is detrimental due to the following reasons. To begin with, local commerces assist to build a wealthy community, since their owners are commonly from the city, which keeps the money inside the town. For instance, while the earnings of Walmart go direct to the US, the gains from small markets are spent on other regional stores, which develops the region. Additionally, small stores preserve the history of towns, as they regularly have unique architectures and decorations, as a result, people get to know better their identity and culture. Furthermore, large malls might cause more damages to the environment than regional shops, since their products require to be transported from different cities, states, and even nations, consequently increasing the release of gases to the atmosphere. To illustrate, studies have showed that multinational supermarkets consume 50% more fuel than small business, thanks to the transport of groceries throughout the countries. Moreover, products from larger stores tend to be more expensive than those ones from smaller places, because of the costs related to the transportation that are minimum in local regions, as a consequence, average citizens may not be able to afford the majority of these goods. To conclude, I do believe that the increasing number of shopping centers and malls over local business might be negative to society. Since not only are they more damaging to the planet, but they also negativelly affect the prosperity and history of communities.