In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The modernization has certainly affected the people’s life momentarily. This has been introduced diversified in the shopping habits of many people. Due to the growing number of shopping malls has affected selling of small shops resulted in the decline of their number compare to the past. This trend having a plethora of advantages compares to disadvantages. The essay will discuss both points in below paragraphs. To begin with, the predominate merit for many people prefer to use shopping in malls are that it saves time and gives a variety of product at one place. This will become a benefit to the people who are working in the corporate world and having less time to manage their home and for relaxation. Although, this type of pattern can serve the consumer in a better way, this will also give some discounts on a certain product helps to maintain their budget also. Moreover, having availability of many items at one place such as clothes, kitchen, grocery would be considered as a key parameter for increasing the popularity of it. For example, with the advancement of shopping, many international items were also available at many rural areas as well; expands its popularity. On the other hand, there are a few points that affect the local shop vender in the detrimental manner. The first demerit is that people never try to use product which were made in their nation. If this type of routine will be continued for the years then, people will forget their ritual. Furthermore, this will also create a problem for the local retailer. As their products were not used by people, so this will decline their number soon. This will result that people have to suffer from the financial crisis. For instance, research conducted shows that advance effect of the international products and marketing by a famous person can become a positive point for the shopping mall, which affects the contradictory impact on the local products. In conclusion, the availability of many products at one place, having a variety of brands helps to increase the popularity of the shopping centre. However, this will also affect the local vendor and culture also suffer.