In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is true that the majority of people prefer to do their shopping from large shopping centres, and this matter can cause closing of many small local shops. Personally, I believe that this issue is a positive progress with several demerits which are worth considering. Actually, shopping from supermarkets which are huge is really convenient and also time saving for people due to the fact that they confront with a wide variety of commodities in all groups. In fact, customers can elect and purchase their needs within a few minutes. What is more, shopping centres or malls usually have good prices in comparison with small local markets and also many times, they sell their products with unbelievable discounts and this issue has an affirmative impact on customers. In other words, they stimulate people for next purchase through this method. Moreover, the supervision of foods and drug administration is a good opportunity for such places to acquire trust. On the other hand, although buying from shopping centre has many merits, it has several demerits for people who have small shops, they lose their customers due to this improvement and alteration of people’s mindset. Besides, they cannot continue their businesses because of the tax and the maintenance cost of having a shop, these are the things, the majority of local shops would be definitely closed by. In addition, many people lose their careers and they will be frustrated about everything. I think that the authorities should prepare some facilities for them in order to prevent of closings and also reduce the rate of taxation for them. Moreover, people who live in each neighbourhood should buy some products from small local shops so as to support them and be as a motivation for them. In conclusion, I have the opinion that people and authorities have a significant role in preserving small local shops in order to establish balance among businesses and also promote this development.