In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development.

In the past few years, there has been a change in the way customers shop. As they prefer large shopping centres or malls, multiple small local shops have been closed. In my opinion, this is a positive development for the entire community. The essay will highlight the advantages to support the argument. Firstly, it is beneficial for the economy of the region as various types of shops from grocery to digital stores can be made available under one roof. To illustrate, as per the recently published data in 'The Metro Lifestyle', it has been shown that 65% of the customers who visit the mall with their family end up purchasing clothes for themselves and their children. Morevoer, these shopping trends have led to an increase in the revenue numbers as sellers are utilising this opportunity to grow their customer range. In addition, the profit numbers of food outlets have exponentially increased after shifting to large shopping centres. Secondly, living in a fast paced world, it is essential to strategically place the outlets to reduce the time an individual spends on their day to day purchase. For instance, as per a survey conducted by the World Organization, an individual spends an average of 12 hours per week on grocery shopping and entertainment. This time can be drastically reduced by providing all the necessary stores in a single location. Another positive aspect of large stores is that they are extremely organized and each commodity section can be distinguished from the other based on the clear markings and instructions throughout the store. To conclude, it is vital for the better development of the communities to have all the essential elements like grocery stores, play arenas, cinemas and clothing stores under a single roof. This will equally benefit the customers and the sellers thereby ameliorating our economy.