Children find it difficult to pay attention or concentrate on school study what are the reasons? How can we solve this problem?

Children’s education has always been a matter of great concern for parents. In today’s world, this has grown exponentially, mainly due to the constant changing world. One of the primary reasons for this, relates to a child’s concentration and small attention span. This essay will attempt to dissect this cause and propose some reasonable solutions that could help with mitigating this issue. Due to a child’s small attention span, conventional ways of teaching are inadequate in keeping their interest. In order to get through to a child, it is important to keep their interest for the duration of the study session or class and ensure they view it as a fun activity. Moreover, most schools find it hard to move away from traditional teaching methods such as dictation, using white boards, etc. , especially in some developing countries, and as a result fail to engage their students. Furthermore, with massive technological growth in recent years, children are attracted towards their phones, tablets, computers, TV, etc. and provide a major source of distraction for them. Many studies have even linked the use of these devices to the release of endorphins resulting in a further dependency on technology. Combine this with the lack of engagement in classroom and education provider’s resistance to adapting to the changing world results in children having difficulties in paying attention. This issue needs to be tackled on two fronts. Firstly, parents need to monitor and limit the use of technology outside of school hours. A structured schedule would be a good start and usage of phones & tablets may even be incorporated into a reward system. Schools should take responsibility for the second front. It is vital for them to coach themselves on changing technology and how it can be utilized for providing quality education to children. For instance, the use of interactive applications, modern teaching methodologies or structuring and creating custom curriculum for each child, based on their learning abilities, interests, etc. In conclusion, it is important to acknowledge and understand the problem, as well as its root cause, utilize modern solutions and creative thinking that caters for the ever-changing modern world. Parents and teachers need to understand children’s interests and how to keep them engaged, while delivering quality education.