In recent years, many local shop owners have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Lately, a lot of retail stores are getting shut off as people prefer to go shopping complex to buy things. Though, it certainly has pros for customers, but its major drawback like generation of unemployment cannot be neglected. Rise of infrastructure has led to the development of the Megastores which are quite convenient to visit and further saves time. One can buy all the grocery, clothes and other essential items in one go in a single day without searching the streets of the whole market. For instance, if one person has shifted to a new city and doesn’t know much about the market and people of that place, he can go to a shopping plaza and purchase all the required stuff like home ware, grocery, clothes at a reasonable price and without worrying that he might have given more amount. It is quite convenient for him and he can purchase things even in a day. Though, big stores are becoming popular, but the small outlets also hold its importance like the easy accessibility of essential things to people and giving employment to a large chunk of our population. Employment is a major concern in our country and a debatable topic and shutting of these outlets is increasing it. For instance, construction of a big shopping galleria led to the shutdown of all small retail shops and created a lot of opposition against it. However, new mall also created employment which might equal the same number of unemployed people. In conclusion, while getting things from arcades saves time and is convenient, these must be weighed against the issue of unemployment generated by it. Personally, as a customer I would like to go to a Megastore.