In recent years many governments has brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. with banning smoking in public places?

It is undeniable that smoking is injurious to health and many governments are taking measures to create awareness to people about the health problems caused by smoking. More and more young people fall prey to smoking habits and hence governments are bringing in laws to ban smoking in public places with an intention to encourage people to stop smoking. I totally agree with this move by the government. Firstly, smoking causes serious health issues not only for smokers, but also for non-smokers. A recent study has proven that passive smokers get equally affected as smokers. Moreover, if someone is smoking in public places, it is very uncomfortable for non-smokers as it causes uneasiness and headache for non-smokers. Secondly, smoking in public places can cause fire accidents. For example, in March 2019 there was serious fire accident in an air show that happened in Bangalore which was caused due to burning cigar bud. Many cars were burnt and some people got injured. Finally, young children see people smoking in public places and feel smoking is cool and get tempted to try smoking. Also, kids get into bad habits like stealing money and telling lies. On the other hand some people feel that there should be no ban on smoking. People who are addicted to smoking cannot stay for long hours without smoking and they feel that there should be a smoking zone in public places rather that a complete ban. In conclusion, since smoking causes serious health damages government should ban people from smoking in public places and serious measures should be taken to educate teenagers about the ill effects of smoking. However, there can be a designated area for smoking in offices, restaurants, etc so that smokers can use this area alone for smoking than causing discomfort for other people by smoking in public places.