In recent years, advertisements are inescapable in the marketing of services and products. I think advertisements can have both - positive and negative effects.

The first advantage of advertising is that it can bring a lot of benefits. So, advertisement generates a diversity of employment opportunities. It provides a career for people who prepare the content of advertisements, design logos, pop up ads or brand awareness for companies. Without this marketing sector, we would have higher unemployment in the world. Another advantage of advertising is that it can promote brand, spread awareness of the messages about products and then products should reach potential consumers, it would attract more customers. Also, by advertising, customers could find out about newly launched products. And as a result, people could select from the bigger choice of products and could know more detailed information about products. However, advertising also has some disadvantages. First of all, there are some technology companies which are collecting data about costumers such as your browsing history or your emails to electronic companies to guide your behaviour on the Internet for commercial purposes. Secondly, there are some brands which profile consumers, influence consumer psychology and trigger memories of childhood or Christmas. They target a specific audience and use subconscious associations. In those brands' shops, music and smells appeal to emotions. As a result, people feel under pressure to buy those brands’ products. Lastly, advertisers often focus on selling a brand image rather than the quality of products by using famous and successful people. Then, customers can be manipulated by the misleading, eye-catching image of influence and they will be likely to spend more money and follow the latest trend. In conclusion, advertisements have some positive effects on customers and marketing companies, but it also has some negative effects for customers, boost sales, special offer items or celebrity endorsement is given to the brand more money and are not really good for consumers.