In order to teach young people about good nutrition and health, your school is planning to require students to take cooking classes in addition to other subjects. Do you think this requirement is a good idea? Why or why not?

In recent years, urban citizens tend to live on their own or in small units rather than in extended family households. In my personal experience, although this trend probably has some drawbacks, it is mostly positive. On the one side, the negative effect of this lifestyle is that it is possibly challenging for people to find someone to share problems and confide. It leads to over-using of TV, the Internet causes serious damage to an individual’s mental health. In the long period, people tend to have a feeling of isolation from society which is the main reason of depression or even suicide. This can be seen from the Japanese case where more and more people in this country choose to stay alone and separate from relatives that make Japan one of the highest suicide rate countries in the world. On the other side, the major merit of this new living pattern is that it offers more personal time and space for individuals. Living independently allows people to have more freedom in planning events without being irritated by their senior relatives. For example, a lot college student these days are choosing to live away from their family as they can do as they please after school without having to face constant judgments or criticism from their family. Furthermore, people in nuclear families often experience less conflict, which are more likely to happen in large family units. Living in small family units creates more opportunities for family members to interact and bond with each other. On the contrast, due to the fact that different people have dissimilar personalities and preferences, relatives who share the same roof could easily oppose each other and develop mutual hatred. In conclusion, despite of having some disadvantages, this trend is generally a positive one not only because it offers more personal space and time for individuals but also reduces conflicts between family members