Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Air transportation is the fastest method to deliver goods from one place to another. It is stated that, the use of this route to transport perishable food items to the nations where they cannot be grown or are out of season, are increasing. This essay will discuss that, the benefits are growth in business and the drawbacks are increased purchasing cost. Exporting fruits and vegetables to other nations via planes has a major advantage like, faster economic growth of the local business. As these items do not have a long shelf life, they may get rotten quickly, if local methods of delivery are used. However, if air transport is used, these items will be delivered faster, thereby, promoting international business and higher monetary gains from local produce. For example, Avacado produced in Jakarta are lucrative sources of international income for the farmers in that area. Hence, this type of mode of transport should be promoted for food items that can perish easily. Although, the local people producing them benefit, there are some important drawbacks like, increased purchasing cost in the country where it is imported. Since, they are imported consumables, because they cannot be produced locally or are out of season, they are costly. For instance, Dragon fruit not being a native crop in India, is expensive compared to an Apple produced locally. Therefore, it is not a very commonly consumed fruit, as not everyone can afford it. In conclusion, even though the overall price of fruits and vegetables increase if they get air transported from other countries, they also give a chance to the farmers to grow economically who export their produce.