In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better:attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the cl

Many universities now provides two pathways for students to adapt to campus life as soon as possible. Some of the students prefer regular meeting at their first years with a senior to orientation and introduction program before the classes. However, my standpoint is the opposite of their. In the following sections, I will explain from three aspects why orientation is more appropriate than meeting. First, orientation and introduction program provides more objective information. Orientation is the official start of the semester. Students who attend orientation are more likely to feel prepared for university and succeed in their studies plus it gives students an opportunity to meet staff and new friends before the first day of classes. The information obtained by students can be attached to the latest policy of the school, which is comprehensive and specific about the school. For example, the University of Toronto has a number of different frosh weeks organized concurrently by different student groups within the university; including college societies, professional faculties and the students’ union. By contrast, as freshmen, if they ask the seniors in their major, the information they get is usually a biased personal preference. While those who have been at this school for several years are more familiar with school facilities and more experienced in choosing courses, the their solution is usually consistent with their personal circumstances, and it does not apply to each of the freshmen. Secondly, attending orientation before class can help students cultivate their personal abilities. Orientation is to assist students to have a comprehensive understanding of school facilities and policies before the beginning of term, so as to ensure that students can calmly solve it or seek help from teachers when they encounter problems. Through introduction programs, students can learn the professional content in advance and know their classmates. They can also familiarize themselves with each other and cultivate a sense of cooperation from some team work. However, new students ask the seniors for help on a regular basis when they face with the problems in their first year, which will make it easy for students to become dependent, and then avoid solving problems themselves. Consequently, they can' t adapt themselves to college life. To my personal example, as I was learning interior design, which has only a few Chinese students but I am one of them, there were many juniors asking me about the specialized courses in each summer. some of them even contacted me once or twice every week. Even sometimes, when I was busy with my own project without timely reply to them, they kept calling me rather than tried to solve problems. Some sophomores were even still asking me for help. Thirdly, participation in orientation costs less to new students. The cost here includes time and mental cost. To begin with, the orientation and intro programs are hold one week before the commence day, guaranteeing that students complete all the preparation before the start of study, so that they will concentrate on their schoolwork. When they encounter a problem, they are able to communicate with their peers and work together to solve it. Nevertheless, if they keep regular meeting with the seniors, some of their learning time will be occupied. In reality, the first year course is the most vital part to help them build the consciousness of thinking individually. Also, keeping in touch with the seniors itself is a process of interpersonal communication, which is definitely draining them. In a nutshell, it is the most effective to attend orientation and introduction program before the classes.