Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, solar energy is widely used by not only individuals or families but also organizations and governments around the world. It is because people’s awareness of protecting the earth is increasing. Hence, there are more and more citizens prefer solar energy, which is considered clean and renewable. However, it had its own pros and cons. There are quite a lot of advantages of using solar energy. Firstly, people only have to pay for the initial installation. Then, they can have free electricity. Also, the earth would have less burden if solar energy is being used appropriately. It is because solar energy is a kind of green energy. Since it does not cause any pollutants or toxic residue produced, it is much healthier and eco-friendly. As for the safety concern, it does not generate radioactive waste or have the possibility of explosion like nuclear power plants, which is still worried by people. On the other hand, solar energy has some drawbacks. The greatest disadvantage is that it is totally relying on sunlight. In other words, it is not always constant. In fact, there are some regions that cannot fully rely on solar energy because of the insufficient sunlight. For example, it can be difficult for people living in northern Russia or Iceland to take advantage of solar energy. Another disadvantage is that the panel is huge and expensive. Therefore, it may not be affordable for everyone. What’s more, storing such a large panel in small houses can be a problem. In conclusion, solar energy can help to slow down the pace of global warming. From my point of view, its advantages outweigh the drawbacks. I believe it will become more and more popular worldwide.