In modern times, there has been an increase in the usage of video cameras to fight crime. Although this technology has helped

In modern times, there has been an increase in the usage of video cameras to fight crime. Although this technology has helped to reduce crime to some extent, I believe that it also has some disadvantages, like the invasion of one’s privacy. It is true that security cameras has contributed significantly to a drop in crime rates. The installation of these gadgets in places such as banks, shopping malls and stores has tremendously decreased the rate of armed robbery. This is because the video footage recorded on these cameras can be used to identify perpetrators and serve as evidence in court to penalise offenders. In addition, many homeowners are now installing cameras in their homes. This gives them a sense of reassurance and peace of mind, because cameras will deter thieves from breaking in. However, despite the security advantages of video cameras, there are some negatives like restriction of people’s freedom and the ability to manipulate camera footage. People generally want to be free and enjoy their private lives without getting monitored. When cameras are installed in almost every corner of the street, people may begin to feel uncomfortable. Also, video cameras are not perfect, a video footage can be manipulated or doctored to wrongly accuse an innocent person. Furthermore, If criminals know where cameras are hidden, they can easily avoid them or cover up their faces to escape recognition. In conclusion, although the advent of video cameras has contributed to a drop in crime rates, this technology is that invades people’s privacy and it is not perfect.