In many western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples not having children?

Families are the integral part of any civilization. And it's difficult to imagine families without children. However, in today's world, there a drastic increase in the number of couples opting not to have kids. Everybody may have their own reasons for opting to have or not to have children. Let us examine few advantages and disadvantages of not having children. Raising children is a strenuous task. Not just physically, but mentally too. Children, especially in their infant stage require constant attendance and attention. Even after they pass the infant stage they do need a lot of care. Whether it may be getting them ready to school every day or cooking for them or helping them with their homework etc. , If you don't have children you would be relieved of all these responsibilities. One more important thing to consider when it comes to raising children is finances. Paying your kid's tuition, buying them clothes and other miscellaneous things costs a lot of money. Many parents usually work extra hard to provide their children a quality life. By not having children you don't have to worry about these expenses. By looking at above pros of not having children, one would be tempted to take that route. But not having children has a downside too. When couples start to get older they will no longer have the same charm their relationship like the way they had in the initial stages of their relationship. Their company will no longer tend to excite them the way it used to. That is where children give meaning and purpose to the lives of parents. With children in the house, there will rarely be any dull moment. One more crucial we need to consider is people need assistance when they get older. They might need a helping hand in doing their daily chores, visiting hospitals or any activity that needs requires good physical condition and cognitive abilities, which usually decline as we get older. You can get a paid support to get these things done. But it lacks the warm and loving touch of your own children. Having or not having kids have their own bright side and down side. One should come to a decision after carefully examine various consequences.