Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Water plays an important role in everybody's life. It can be used for many household activities like cooking, bathing, drinking and washing clothes. Approximately, 71% of the earth's surface is covered with water and in that, only 1% water is suitable for drinking purpose. In the past years, there was more than sufficient water available for us, but in the present times, the problem of fresh drinking water is going on incrementing. Soon it is going to become a huge issue for all the people living on the earth. The reasons for this drastic change are many. Mostly because of the lack of interest we show towards the environment and that is why this situation is getting worse. The very first reason of water scarcity is the waste material, produce by the manufacturing industries, going into water bodies. One clear example is, soap manufacturing industries. These industries, they use lots of chemicals to produce a single bar of soap. For the preparation of soap bars, the chemicals went through so many processes and then after that extra chemical discharge into small rivers or lakes. Due to that water gets polluted and is not fit for drinking purposes. The second reason is over usage of water in agriculture purposes. For instance, the farmer wants to water their farms so he opens the tap, but forgets to turn it off because of that lot of water gets wasted. So, there are many more reasons due to which there is a shortage of fresh water. To prevent that, the most important solution is, to reuse the already used water in harvesting purposes. By doing that, we can save half of the drinking water. In addition to that, we can find new ways of purifying sea water by setting up large purification plants. Moreover, we can set up rainwater harvesting techniques. To conclude that, we need to save our precious resource of life that is, "water good for drinking purposes". Because if we will not start saving it as soon as possible then that day is not far when there is no water left on earth and due to that creature start to die.