In many societies, there is less social contact between the elderly and the young. What are the reasons and what measures can be taken?

In this day and ages, it seems that the gap between generations is becoming looser that there are insufficient interactions needed among people of different ages. The aim of this essay is to highlight the factors behind and suppose several solutions to tackle this trend. From my perspectives, the older and the younger are less involved in social contact owing to a host of reasons. Firstly, it is evident that there are various distinctions existed between generations, which might trigger a number of contradictions. Apparently, the youth have their own preference that they often consider the lifestyle of their grandparents as old-fashioned. For example, how disturbing a grandson, with a passion for rock’n’roll and EDM, might feel when having a conversation about music with his grandfather who prefers folk songs and classical music. Secondly, people, in modern society, tend to be too busy to allocate some time for the senior even though they are all living under the same roof. This is because they are possibly stressed with deadlines at the workplace or stuck in social networks and other relationships. This seems to be an undesirable tendency, thus, a variety of measures should be taken. The most feasible solution should be to keep an effective timing-balance between work and family among the younger population. They should comprehend that there is nothing, even jobs, could be compared with the family bond, which is formed by regular talks and sharing between all household members. Another potential measure should be more lessons taught children about the true value of family, the significance of caring and love. Take my brother, who loves to express his sentiment and affection with older people thanks to inspiring knowledge accumulated at his school, as a salient example. In conclusion, though the deduction in the interaction between generations is nearly insurmountable, I believe that education and time management could be of some great help.