In many places, shopping is the leisure time activity for young adults. Why is it so? Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

In the current scenario, Shopping is the main activity people prefer to do in their free time either in shopping malls or on e-commerce websites. The ever-changing fashion trends and the desire to show off in front of friends are the leading causes of this change. In my opinion, this is a negative development because of the wastage of money, time and energy. To begin with, every day a new fashion trend or a new gadget is introduced in the market. The young adults want to update their wardrobe according to the latest market trends. For example, whenever a new movie is launched, girls try to imitate the style of the actress by buying clothes similar to what she wore in the film. Moreover, many times, adults want to show-off their status in front of their friends. They want to splurge money to do this. That is why we see many youngsters with large friend circles hopping from shop to shop and spending money. Also, this is a negative development because of the wastage of money. The youngsters spend their hard-earned money on unimportant things. They buy all the stuff which are useless and collect all the junk in their closets. Furthermore, it is a wastage of precious time and energy. The time which could be spent more productively is spent on buying things which are not needed. Instead, they can join gymnastics or aerobics to have a healthy mind and body. Thus, mindless shopping excessive shopping is a waste of money, time and energy. To conclude, more and more youngsters now spend their time shopping because they want to follow the latest fashion trends and to impress their friends. However, it is a negative development as it is a complete waste of time, energy and more importantly money.