Some people think that the public libraries are no longer important while others disagree.

Nowadays, with the growth of technology it is often argued by some people that government fund libraries are not of much use these days, while others are of the opine that it still plays an important role The thought process of this essay will discuss both the views and opinion will be stated in the conclusion. To begin with, it is true that internet has made state run libraries less important. The first one is that online sources can store a lot more information than any physical library. This allows researchers to easily get information without travelling to a local library. In other words, we can say that finding information online is a whole lot easier than going to a library and reading voluminous books. Moreover, students can look for information on the internet whenever they want, while most libraries can only be visited during certain hours of the day. As a result, finding information online is easier for people who are busy with their work during daytime. On the other hand, public libraries still serve some valuable purpose. To start with, the information on the internet is relatively new whereas libraries have an impressive collection of old manuscripts that are not available online. Also, much of the information online is in English whereas libraries have a huge collection of books written in a wide variety of languages. Furthermore, Libraries usually provide a quiet space for reading or learning. This will greatly benefit students who are learning or researching since they are less likely to be distracted by people or things around them. For example, many university students claim that they can only concentrate when they are in a quiet study area in their university library. In conclusion, I believe both arguments are relevant. On balance, in my opinion It is a fact that traditional libraries have lost some of their importance because of the advancement in technology. Even so they are still needed because information stored in a library is always reliable and accurate.