The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear energy provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

It is true that global harmony and unity is maintained by having a nuclear weapon risk. I totally disagree that the benefits of maintaining world peace and cheaper energy outweigh the drawback of mass destruction. Firstly, a nuclear explosion can possibly trigger the human extinction. The destructive effect of nuclear attack if the control of this explosive device is on the hands of an arrogant leader can never be under estimated. For example, the nuclear test initiated in Japan few decades ago affected marine creatures widely. The nuclear reactions brought the mass killing of whales and fish as well as the destruction of coral reefs. Thus, there is a clear indication that the power of nuclear weapon only benefited a few. In addition, the idea that nuclear power is a source of cleaner and cheaper energy does not hold a valid argument. This notion was refuted by many because of the fact that there are more alternative sources of energy that are renewable and sustainable. Good examples are solar energy and wind power. Although the cost of operating the plant was higher because it is still in its experimental stage, in the long run, it is expected to efficiently operate at a minimal cost. This clearly confirms that there is a better option available and relying on the use of nuclear energy is not necessary. In conclusion, although there are advantages of nuclear energy such as international peace and low-cost source of fuel, the high risk of human eradication and other sources of energy should be taken into consideration. I disagree that nuclear power is more important than human life.