In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. Whats is your opinion about this?

The constant growing of urban societies around the globe is leading to a demand for habitation in the rural areas. In this context, some individuals believe that preserving these places should be prioritized over constructing homes there. I strongly disagree, since it is possible to the develop rural areas while preserving the nature through environmental planning and smart use of natural resources. In order to allow citizens to move to countryside, most governments can perform studies in their rural areas to identify where it is possible to live without polluting rivers, damaging animal life, etc. These researches are not expensive or difficult anymore, since the fact that in the last decades, the number of graduated students in environmental sciences, such as Environmental Engineering reached high levels. This means that every year, there is more and more professionals spread worldwide that are able to help to preserve country areas while allowing constructions there. Moreover, individuals have been living in rural areas for centuries over the history. Most of these lands were not destroyed by human interference, because countryside habitants need the nature to live. For instance, plantation and cattle farm are common activities in these areas. If the natural resources had been destroyed, the local habitants would probably have to move to other areas and start their lives again. This is a risk most of people do not want to take, so the country residents take good care of nature. In conclusion, it is perfectly possible to balance development and preservation in countryside areas, using science to help environmental constructions and observing through history how countryside habitants made good use of natural resources, since this is crucial to their survival.