In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

When constructing new houses, with the cities usually having no free area available, the countryside is the only option left to build them. Building new residences in the countryside pollute the surroundings and also destroys the natural ecosystem. This essay will be discussing the demerits of building homes in the suburbs. Nature’s balance is destabilized when construction projects are started in a place with no prior human settlement. For instance, when land is cleared for building, natural flora and fauna have to be displaced. Moreover, there are complex connections between all life forms, which usually support life for each other, destabilizing this balance can be the difference between survival and death. Therefore, human settlement usually has devastating effects for the natural habitat of animals and plants. Building houses also bring along pollution as construction will include making of sewerage lines, electricity lines, roads and other infrastructure. This infrastructure will cause the unadulterated environment of the suburban area to be polluted. In addition, This settlement of humans will also bring along air, sound and light pollution to these outskirts. An example of this pollution can be sewers becoming a source of illness if the contents are consumed by animals. Hence, adulteration of the environment will also add to the negative effects of constructing in the outskirts. To conclude, in my opinion, the countryside should not be used for construction. More innovative ways should be sought, for example, demolishing old villas in the city and constructing skyscrapers in their place. This would protect the environment as well as provide housing for the population.