In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this

In many areas, new houses are required, but there is limited space available in cities. So, the only place available to build new homes is in the countryside. It is argued by some people that these rural areas should be protected by not building new houses. This essay completely agrees with that statement because the construction of new homes can result in famine and increase pollution. To begin with, scarcity of food can already be observed near prominent cities across the world today. Most of the countryside is occupied by farming land and produces various kinds of food necessary for a living. Hence, the destruction of these agricultural lands for the purpose of building new homes can cause food deprivation. For example, research conducted by a notable sociologist states that, if the agricultural land in the countryside continues to decrease then the scarcity of food may increase to 40% by 2030. Furthermore, increasing pollution with cutting down of trees near the countryside is a prevailing concern for the people. With the expansion of cities, the area near villages and countryside are becoming deserted due to lack of vegetation. As a result, the oxygen levels in the atmosphere are reduced with a rise in pollution causing severe health concerns. For instance, an article in the New York Times states that 15% more pollution is recorded in the USA with the expansion of cities beyond the outskirts. In conclusion, the construction of new homes in the villages and countryside should not be allowed as it may elevate the pollution problems and also result in a shortage of food