Question: in many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single sex schools or co educational schools. Some people think that children going to o single sex schools have disadvantages latter in life.

Recently, in most nations, guardians have the opportunity to decide either to enroll their wards into a mixed or gender- specific school. However, it is opined by some individuals that there are demerits attached to attending a monosexual institution in the future. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this believe because it will have negative effects on their social relationship with opposite sex and also lead to difficulty in handling complex life situations as they reach maturity. First and foremost, attending a monosexual institution will cause its attendees to have poor social relationship with opposite sex as they grow and come in contact with them. This is because the experience is a strange one which they have not learnt the dos and don'ts. For example, a research conducted by a group of advocates against sexual abuse revealed that most victims were females who had no knowledge about safe ways of relating with opposite gender. Hence, enrolling children in single sex schools can make them objects of various categories of abuse later in life. Secondly, youngsters who attend a gender-specific school will find it difficult to face complex life issues. The reason being that, such learners were constrained by their environment. Therefore, there were not exposed to other sides of life. To illustrate, a male friend of mine who had his high school education found it hard during his undergraduate education to propose to the lady she loves due to fear and timidity, this made him loose the lady to another bold man. Therefore, learning in a gender-specific school can affect how learners will face difficult life situations later in life. In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that there are drawbacks such as poor social relationship and difficulty in solving complex life issues in the future for youngsters enrolled in a gender-specific institution.