In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn on their own income and therefore do not require the financial security marriage can bring.

In recent times, there is a general lack of interest in settling down among mature females. It is perceived by many people, to be a result of increased financial independence among women. This essay will completely disagree with this idea, because I think this has more to do with constantly increasing breakup rate, rather than financial incentive. It is not uncommon, to see a significant section of people blaming the lack female lack of interest in marriage, on their improved ability to make money. In the past, most women become housewives immediately after the wedding, making them dependent on their husband for money. This trend has changed over the years, due to the fact that, women activity in the labour market now on par with men (thanks to feminism). For instance, engineering and the medical field which historically dominated by men, now experiences equal participation among both sexes. This ironically coincides with the decline in the number of weddings. However, I do consider the proponents of the idea above as misguided. It is a matter of fact, that the decline of marriage is not the fault of working women, but its associated with the increasing number of divorce cases. As a result, females generally consider the psychological impact of broken marriage as not worth risking. For example, recent studies by the Nigeria population agency show that the breakup rate is the most cited reason for the reduction in weddings. Moreover, the majority of women do not marry for financial reasons. In conclusion, this essay discussed, why people think working are women less interested in wedding, but also showed the fallacy of this school of thought, because studies point, to discouragement due to increased divorce rate.