In many countries, women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of the newborn. Do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages?

The maternity leave is a benefit given to protect the dignity of motherhood and to ensure the health of the mother and child. I believe that the pros of maternity leave outweigh the cons. A number of arguments support my opinion. First, maternity leave is very advantageous for the newborns. We all know that the future of the world rests largely in the hands of the generation of generation we are rearing. Once a child is born, it becomes national property. Mothers are the front line childcare providers and therefore, if they are given maternity leave, they can do their job better. In most Indian homes the mother's salary is necessary to support the family. So, if the mother does not get a paid maternity leave, then she has to go back to the job earlier and this affects the childcare. Nurseries fail to provide the one-to-one interaction children need. Secondly, maternity leave is beneficial for the mother herself. It is an undeniable fact that woman has to go through a very stressful time physically, emotionally and financially, during pregnancy. Therefore, if women are allowed maternity leave, they can look after their health. A recent research has proven that if health of young mothers is good, then the physical and mental health of children is also good. Another important advantage of the maternity leave is that, the job is secure. Where maternity leave is not allowed, the woman has to leave her job, and the vacancy may get filled when it is time for her to get back to work. The fear of losing the job altogether makes many women apprehensive and so they get back to work at the cost of their health and their child's health. Admittedly, there are a few disadvantages of maternity leave. A long maternity leave may be an obstacle for career progression. Secondly, in the case of unpaid maternity leave, there may be a financial strain on the households. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion saying that the disadvantages of maternity leave are negligible as compared to the advantages. That is why some countries have taken a step forward and allowed maternity leave to women after childbirth.