In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Marriage ceremonies in most of the countries of the world are becoming huge expensive and largely celebrated than before. This enormous arrangement is the wastage of money and sometimes burden to the middle class family. This occasion is the biggest get together of the friends and family and people are in a festive mode during weddings. Negative side is more visible here than the positive one. Basically, nowadays people would like to arrange splendid weddings mostly in the big cities. They spend huge money and resources arranging marriage ceremony like booking community centre and providing delicious food items. For instance in last week I attended a high official wedding in Khulna at the Hotel City Inn International. The decoration was marvelous but I saw people left a lot of food in their plate. They took a huge amount of food and finally could not finish. That was the total wastage of huge money and effort. Sometimes parents have to sell their properties to manage expensive wedding. They want to make their daughter happy all the time. Even though, some parents have to lead a poor life after the marriage of their daughter. That is a pity to the family and society. On the contrary, these huge expensive and large wedding are the biggest gathering of friends and family. People become festive and enjoy a lot. For example, in last month I there was a wedding ceremony in our area. Both the bride and bridegroom live in the same area. It was an enormous celebration to the whole area. The decorated nicely and fed all the people in the area. People do not get time in their busy life and can spend excellent time during this type of occasions. To conclude, now the number of bigger and expensive wedding has been increasing day by day than before. Big weddings are the occasions of enjoyment. But at the same time these are the wastage of huge money and resources.