In many countries, weddings are expensive as compared to the past. It is a positive or negative development.

The trend of a glamourous wedding has taken over the new generation by storm. I believe it to be a negative development not only because of its mega-disadvantages related to increasing debt and augmenting polarity in social segments, but also because of its primary flaw as becoming penny less in the future. This essay will explore how these mega-drawbacks make this development a positive one. Firstly, fancy matrimonial ceremonies divide society into rich and poor segments. This is to say, those who spend more money are considered wealthy and reputable, while those with simple arrangements are deemed a lower class of society. Take an example of Brazil, where a significant proportion of young people wanted to show-off by arranging an expensive gathering to look rich in society. Thus, separation of society into an upper and lower class make this development a negative one. Secondly, people run out of budget to make a lavish wedding. Since a fancy arrangement demands a hefty amount of money, people have to borrow money from banks, friends or relives ending up in debt. This fact can be better explained with an example of Germany, where the National bank has offered public a wedding loan at a 4% markup, and a large proportion is applying for the loan. Hence, pilling up the stress of debt has a negative impact on the married lives of youngsters. Finally, the future of people who became extravagant on marriage is on stake because this money could be spent on their own betterment such as health and travel insurance. Therefore, spending all savings on a wedding day is not a wise approach, in fact, it is an unwelcome development. To sum up, the trend of lavish weddings has a bad impact on people in terms of debenture, extending the gap between rich and poor and in the future prospect, all these mega-disadvantages make this a negative development.