People today know fewer of their neighbours than in the past. Why is this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The probability of people knowing their neighbour is far less now than in the past. This trend is mainly due to long working hours and depending on technology. However, there are a number of measures that can be implemented to resolve this issue. One of the reasons for realizing limited society members is due to the increase in the amount of office work especially in urban areas. Because of the high competition in the consumer market each and every company wants to deliver product on time, which resulted in a drastic increase in effort and time required for any employee. Breadwinners has to put in more effort and additional hours to finish tasks within the given time period, due to which employees spend less time with their friends and family. In addition to that, the advancement in technology caused most of the public to communicate via text message or over the phone rather than meeting in person which in turn lead to reduced face time with each other. This can be resolved using a number of ways so that improvement in knowing each other in the neighbourhood increases. Firstly, governments and corporate bodies should reduce the working hours of its employees at all levels and adopt flexible working hours so that office workers get more time to mingle with other fellow colleagues as well with friends, families and neighbourhood which in turn improve interaction with surrounding communities. Secondly, community centres should be built and community members should be invited to conduct social meetings to meet and greet each other face to face so that the communication as well as the sense of bonding between neighbours can be made strong. I concede that this would be a difficult task, but people can come closer together and develop a physically by knowing each other very well. In conclusion, the lack of community centres and the wide gap between social circle and local communities lead to disconnect in the neighbourhood. Only when governments and corporate bodies are able to ensure its employees about reducing working hours at all levels, will this situation be remedied.