Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, ifso, how?

English is one of the most used languages in the world, this is why a lot of educational institutes pays a special attention into teaching English, this becomes concerning when sometimes schools focuses so much on English up to the point it replaces the local language of the school’s community. This essay will discuss why is it necessary to learn English, and how can we rescue the local languages from disappearing. I think everyone should learn English as a second language, not only because it is the language that is used by most of the developed countries, but also because learning English will give you the access into a huge amount of knowledge. The best Universities in the world uses English as its local language, hence most of the books and information in the word are in English or has been translated to English. And what is more powerful than knowledge? On the other hand, learning English should not stand on the way of learning our local Languages. local languages is what reflects the community’s culture and heritage. Losing local language will put community’s heritage, culture and knowledge into danger. Therefore, individuals and governments should stand together to protect local languages by giving it the priority in schools and universities, using it media such as news, commercials, talking shows and so on. In conclusion, Even thought English should be taught in schools, it should not overcome teaching the local languages, since these languages is protecting our cultural identity. It is the responsibility individuals and governments to protect these languages from disappearing by mainly using it in our everyday life.