Weddings are more expensive in many countries present and past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Weddings are one of the auspicious occasions in anyone’s life. However, it has been observed that today’s generation is spending insane amounts of money on their marriages in contrast to earlier times. People usually celebrate different ceremonies to make this day memorable. In the upcoming paragraphs, the reasons for this trend will be analyzed and why it can be seen as harmful to the society. There are myriad of reasons, First and foremost, people often consider expensive marriages as a status symbol and spend huge amount of money by inviting unnecessary guests along with buying costly clothes and jewelry. For instance, those who want to show their community that they are very well connected socially, would consider this an opportunity and would invite as many as political figures as they can. Second, development of media influences people’s perception of how a wedding should be conducted. Idea of fairytale style marriages heightens our sensation and lust for the mind blowing nuptials. Though, this growing trend has a huge negative impact on our society. Firstly the middle class which constitute 80 percentage of the total population is the prey of this craze due to demonstration effect. For example, in a bank survey, it was found that loan for the nuptials has triggered to 65percent from 30 percent compared to past years. Secondly, matrimonial ceremonies are losing their true meaning and importance which is to unite people in love. Instead become obsessed with the vanity of the ceremony. In the nutshell, I would like to pen down by saying that to maintain their stigma and show off to their community are the prime causes for this big fat wedding. However, it does not come without the price of financial worries for the future.