In many countries, very few people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In today’s contemporary world, an increasing number of people, especially the younger population, now prefer to stay on their own. I believe this to be a negative development which may have adverse consequences such as the person going into depression and the declining interaction with the society. To begin with, living alone can sometimes lead to depression. In other words, whenever a person is into a lot of stress or facing some extreme situations in his life and he has no one around to talk to, then this loneliness can have detrimental effect on person’s mental & physical well being. For, instance, a recent survey by Medical Council of India states that, over 40% of people in age group of 25-40 years, staying alone are prone to increasing stress level and face health issues. To explain further, people living individually often feel alienated from the society. Such people are often regarded as introvert because they do not generally interact with people around them. Due to this reason, such people do not have friends or they fail to strike a chord with their colleagues or neighbours. Moreover, they often distance themselves from their family and relatives and are so accustomed to living alone that they do not communicate with anyone in the society. In conclusion, the recent phenomenons of living alone, especially amongst the millennial is proving to be highly negative for mankind wherein this affects the health of an individual and also results in minimal interaction with other inhabitants. The onus is on the entire mankind to arrest this growing phenomenon & discourage individually living culture.