In many countries today, people in cities live alone or in small family units, rather than family groups.

Some people support the opinion that volunteering for different community activities should be mandatory for high school students. I, agree with the suggestion completely because of the benefits it can bring to an individual. First of all, unpaid community services are always appreciated due to the real life experience, they add to a person's life and especially if they are high school children. This is to say that students of that age have a comprehensive syllabus to study that leaves them exhausted and bored at times. Working for charities or doing any other volunteer work not only takes them out from the books, but also give them the insights about their surroundings. Furthermore, it helps them academically as well. For example, a survey conducted by the Australian group of educationists revealed that 80% of high school results were improved when the students opted for community activities as their minor subject. Secondly, volunteering for such services is always a good highlight on the resume. In other words, teenagers participating in these events eventually develop interpersonal skills like empathy and kindness which is considered to be an important aspect sought by most of the employers nowadays. For example, the majority of jobs advertised in The Daily newspaper of Canada in the recent years were looking for people with good interpersonal and soft skills in addition to their degrees. In conclusion, the unpaid neighbourhood service should be an integral part of high school programmers because of the obvious benefits it brings to the individual in the long run.