In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than the large groups. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there has been a rising trend for city dwellers to lead a solitary life or live in nuclear families rather than live in extended ones. Although this tendency may encounter several drawbacks, I am strongly convinced that living alone or in small-sized families have more benefits. On the one hand, people in metropolises choose to live alone or in small families may face some difficulties. Firstly, it is easy for them to suffer from the loneliness, especially the ones who live solitarily. Whenever they have trouble dealing with study or work, they might lose themselves because they have nobody to share their feelings. Secondly, living in a small family means the occupants are not able to have a chance to receive the advice from the elderly. Senior citizens have a life of experience and wisdom to guide their offspring to overcome any obstacles; so it will be a lack for those who live alone or small families. However, the greater outcomes from the way of living alone or in small family units are undeniable. To begin with, these people can enjoy their privacy as they do not need to share rooms or personal items with others. The young marriage couples, for example, have more space to express their emotions without any interruptions. As the consequence, less conflict is seen among them. What is more, citizens in cities must cover all kinds of bills, and most of them are incredibly high; therefore, if they have to make their living to support many family members, they obviously struggle with financial matters. However, living alone or in small families help them ease that burden. In conclusion, people in cities cannot avoid the disadvantages which they must deal with when choosing to live solitarily or in small units, I believe this lifestyle is far more beneficial to the occupants.