In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Currently, there is a shrink of family size observed in some countries, as citizens tend to live more independent than people were in the past. Personally, I believe that this tendency has both positive and negative impacts on human life. In most countries, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, leading to some advantages for the development of individuals as well as families. People could have more freedom to travel and live far away from their home towns. For example, many students choose to study abroad instead of going to their local university, and gaining valuable experience from this makes them more independent as they learn to live alone. As growing in a small family unit, conflicts between family members would be remarkably limited in comparison with a multi-generational family. As a result, the relationship between all family members is more and more close-knit that would support mentally the development of each members' life. However, one-person households are more vulnerable as facing financial and health issues. It is true that life is more complex and difficult, especially because the costs of living has increased so dramatically. Without the help from other people, it would be impossible for many people to pay all living costs such as buying a car, paying a deposit or even purchase food. Moreover, for some people, particularly the elderly, living alone could trigger mental illness such as depression or autism if people segregate themselves from human contact in the long run. In conclusion, the shrink of household size is accompanied by both merits and demerits. Therefore, I personally remain uncertain whether this trend is positive or not.